Client reviews

CLIENT-REVIEWS.png

Browse through recent reviews from our clients
Namibia, Botswana and Zambia Birding
“Best adventure ever!”
BeLinda – 14 November 2017
Everything about Nature Travel Namibia was top notch. The itinerary was perfect – great birding and game sightings, excellent lodges and food. Nick is a world class guide who is entertaining, organized and a pro. Arranging the safari was easy from payment to pick up at the airport to travel help. I highly recommend this company to those wanting a once in a lifetime experience
Uganda Birding
“Uganda Birding and Gorilla Trekking Trip with Nature Travel Birding”
Kristi – 27 August 2017
We are very pleased with our trip August 2017 to Uganda with Nick Buys of Nature Travel Birding. Our pre-trip expectations were high and Nick delivered! Logistically Uganda is not an “easy” trip but Nick handled the challenges on the ground with ease and expertise. Lodging and food were adequate although WIFI was very spotty. The main focus of the trip was birding and gorilla trekking. Nick is very astute of quickly assessing your bird list and pursuing additions to the list as well as focusing on endemics species. Many daily excursions were conducted with the assistance of local guides with great knowledge of local birding hotspots. The net effect was a very focused search of species with minimal down time. Nick never loses sight of his clients needs and has the expertise and experience to assist in the location of the bird. Gorilla and Chimp trekking was as advertised; wonderful and astonishing!
This trip was primarily forest birding with a lots of time spent looking up at the canopy. Usual days were up before sunrise and back at sunset. Roads are not the best, mostly gravel, and we drove many kms to maximize out experience. Our 14 day trip brought a closeness to trip participants (including locals) which proved to be fun and rewarding.
We saw upwards of 400 species of birds, probably over 50% new additions to our bird list. We had three sightings of the shoebill, one for 20 minutes within 10 meters of us. Other birding highlights included spectacular visuals of the Green Breasted Pitta and African Green Broadbill. Our gorilla trekking had us spend over 1 hour with a family again meters away from us. Chimps were high in the forest canopy but provided entertainment by raining down projectiles at us!
Overall a great trip and wonderful experience. Nick is passionate about his guiding and love of birding and mammals. We are already in discussion with Nick on our next trip.

Kenya Birding
“Amazing birding trip to Kenya!”
Anne-Marie – 1 February 2017
My husband and I just returned from a private birding tour with this wonderful company. We can’t say enough about this amazing trip – the itinerary was perfect. This is the second time we’ve used this company for travel in Africa and we would absolutely use them again in the future. The trip exceeded our expectations with 450+ birds in 11 days, 47 mammal species including the big 5. Our guide, Nick Buys, is among one of the best bird guides we have had the pleasure of working with. He truly makes every effort possible to find the specialties of each region.
Namibia Birding
“The best birding trip of my life”
Alan Melton – 6 December 2016
From the 1st communication to the last the service was excellent. The safari itself was far more than I ever expected, the guide was superb his knowledge was 2nd to none he was able to find all the species I asked for and more. I would have no hesitation in recommending this guide and this tour.
Caprivi and Okavango Birding
“Caprivi and Okavango Birding Safari – 6 Days/5 Nights”
Margaret – 16 October 2016
This safari was excellent in every respect. Our guide, Nick, began by asking us about our main goals for the trip. Nick, a Namibian vet, has a vast knowledge of birds and wildlife, as well as the flora, of the region. He was generous in sharing that knowledge, never tiring of answering questions. It was a pleasure to have Nick as our guide.
The lodges chosen by Nature Travel Namibia (NTN) were situated on three great African rivers: the Zambezi, the Kwando, and the Okavango. Accommodations were comfortable with gorgeous views and the food was good.
The safari was well-planned by NTN, with every detail thought of in advance. There was a nice balance of intensive birding and relaxation during the hot hours of the day if we so chose. Otherwise, it was out for more birding in the bush or garden, or out on the river.
We loved this safari and would highly recommend NTN to any traveller interested in nature and in this wondrous area of the world.

Namibia Customised Birding Tour
“Birding trip to the Erongo Mountains in search of Namibia endemics”
Kristi – 11 April 2016
My husband and I joined Nick of Nature Travel Namibia for a short birding trip to the Erongo Mountains. This location was chosen for the many endemics we might see and the spectacular granitic Erongo Mountains. Nick took care of all the arrangements from our arrival in Windhoek, including booking us into a guest house that provided good birding in their garden and better birding a short walk away at Avis Dam. We stayed at the Erongo Wilderness Lodge where we enjoyed comfortable tented accommodations, great meals and friendly service from the lodge staff. Our morning and afternoon walks netted us over 50 birds and 7 of the 8 anticipated endemics along with some antelope. As geologists we really enjoyed this setting and Nick found a fabulous minerals shop in nearby Omaruru that we visited before returning to Windhoek. We hope to return soon and join Nick for another birding trip in Namibia.
Namibia, Botswana and Zambia Birding
“Nature Travel Namibia rocks!”
Anne-Marie – 17 March 2016
My husband and I have recently returned from a 16-day birding safari to Namibia, Caprivi, Botswana and Zambia organized by Nature Travel Namibia. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this company. If I could give it a 6 star rating I would! Nick, our guide was enthusiastic, professional and very knowledgeable. From the moment we made contact with him, he helped us organize and tailor the trip to the last detail. I should also mention that he is probably the best bird guide we’ve ever had the pleasure of working with. His passion for the birds and all the wildlife made it seem as if he was also seeing them for the first time. He definitely gave us 100%. We would not hesitate to use Nick and this company again and would highly recommend them to anyone thinking of visiting southern Africa.
Namibia Endemics Customized Trip
“Superb Namibian introduction trip”
Nicci – 27 June 2015
We enjoyed a short, 5-day trip with Nick from Nature Travel Namibia earlier this month. We were interested in an introductory tour of Namibia, to see some of the countryside, but moreover, to see the country’s incredibly rich birdlife.
Nick organised everything from the trip itinerary, to accommodation and extra excursions. In our wildest dreams could we not have imagined that Namibia would creep into our hearts so quickly! The pleasant people, the multi-coloured countryside, the incredible desert vistas, the untamed animal life and of course the diverse bird species all impressed us immensely.
Nick was the star of the show, being friendly and professional at the same time. He quickly became a friend for life and we will definitely make use of his expertise in the future.

Namibia Customized Birding Trip
“A perfect trip with a perfect guide”
Sebastien – 12 March 2015

We wanted a 15 days trip in Namibia focused on birds and nocturnal mammals. We are extremely satisfied to choose to do it with Nature Travel Namibia. Nick is not only an excellent guide with huge knowledge in nature, birds and animals, he is also a fantastic trip organizer with an excellent communication and great human qualities. Always attentive to our needs, he knew how to adapt the trip so that it correspond exactly to our needs. The lodgings, the itinerary and all the details were perfectly chosen in function of what we wanted. We travelled in a comfortable and spacious car.
Nick succeed to show us all the endemic birds, even the most difficult, and a great panel of animals and nocturnal mammals, very hard to see.
Everything was simply perfect and we strongly recommend Nature Travel Namibia to those who want an excellent personalized safari.